16.4 C
Mexico City
jueves, octubre 28, 2021

Exploring Early Modern Yiddish Literature

Intermediate-to-advanced level speakers are welcome to join us in a linguistic and literary trip back in time to a world of Eastern European Jews of the  19th century. Reb Nakhman's Tales, works by Dr. Solomon Ettinger and Isroel Aksenfeld, and early creations by Mendele Moykher Sforim were the first modern Yiddish literature in print. We will try, via close reading of those texts, to get the feel of the everyday life of the Jews of the Pale of Settlement; of their spectrum of knowledge, beliefs, thought patterns, passions, hopes, and, of course, sense of humor. You can register by clicking the button below.

When: October 19, 11:00 a.m. PDT (2:00 p.m. EDT, 7:00 p.m. in the U.K., 8:00 p.m. in Central Europe, 9:00 p.m. in Israel)

Where: Online

Cost: First class free! (if there is demand, then we will schedule 5 more sessions)

Instructor: David Shafir

David Shafir is a life-long student of Yiddish. Having spent many years among the native speakers of Yiddish in Canada and the USA has helped him a lot in better understanding the language and its culture. He loves collaborating on new Yiddish-focused projects.

El evento está terminado.

Fecha

Oct 19 2021
Finalizdo!

Hora

11:00 am
Categoría
Código QR
169
Todo sobre la vida judía en México. El mundo judío, su actualidad, su herencia y sus tradiciones. Artículos, noticias, libros judíos, música judía, videos, judaísmo y más... Contáctanos: info@diariojudio.com

SIN COMENTARIOS

Deja tu Comentario

A excepción de tu nombre y tu correo electrónico tus datos personales no serán visibles y son opcionales, pero nos ayudan a conocer mejor a nuestro público lector

A fin de garantizar un intercambio de opiniones respetuoso e interesante, DiarioJudio.com se reserva el derecho a eliminar todos aquellos comentarios que puedan ser considerados difamatorios, vejatorios, insultantes, injuriantes o contrarios a las leyes a estas condiciones. Los comentarios no reflejan la opinión de DiarioJudio.com, sino la de los internautas, y son ellos los únicos responsables de las opiniones vertidas. No se admitirán comentarios con contenido racista, sexista, homófobo, discriminatorio por identidad de género o que insulten a las personas por su nacionalidad, sexo, religión, edad o cualquier tipo de discapacidad física o mental.